The Resource Black edge : inside information, dirty money, and the quest to bring down the most wanted man on Wall Street, Sheelah Kolhatkar

Black edge : inside information, dirty money, and the quest to bring down the most wanted man on Wall Street, Sheelah Kolhatkar

Label
Black edge : inside information, dirty money, and the quest to bring down the most wanted man on Wall Street
Title
Black edge
Title remainder
inside information, dirty money, and the quest to bring down the most wanted man on Wall Street
Statement of responsibility
Sheelah Kolhatkar
Creator
Contributor
Author
Distributor
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
  • "The story of billionaire trader Steven Cohen, the rise and fall of his hedge fund SAC Capital, and the largest insider trading investigation in history--for readers of The Big Short, Den of Thieves, and Dark Money Steven A. Cohen changed Wall Street. He and his fellow pioneers of the hedge fund industry didn't lay railroads, build factories, or invent new technologies. Rather, they made their billions through speculation, by placing bets in the market that turned out to be right more often than wrong--and for this, they gained not only extreme personal wealth but formidable influence throughout society. Hedge funds now oversee more than $3 trillion in assets, and the competition between them is so fierce that traders will do whatever they can to get an edge. Cohen was one of the industry's biggest success stories, the person everyone else in the business wanted to be. Born into a middle-class family on Long Island, he longed from an early age to be a star on Wall Street. He mastered poker in high school, went off to Wharton, and in 1992 launched the hedge fund SAC Capital, which he built into a $15 billion empire, almost entirely on the basis of his wizardlike stock trading. He cultivated an air of mystery, reclusiveness, and excess, building a 35,000-square-foot mansion in Greenwich, Connecticut, flying to work by helicopter, and amassing one of the largest private art collections in the world. On Wall Street, Cohen was revered as a genius: one of the greatest traders who ever lived. That image was shattered when SAC Capital became the target of a sprawling, seven-year investigation, led by a determined group of FBI agents, prosecutors, and SEC enforcement attorneys. Labeled by prosecutors as a "magnet for market cheaters" whose culture encouraged the relentless pursuit of "edge"--and even "black edge," which is inside information--SAC Capital was ultimately indicted and pleaded guilty to charges of securities and wire fraud in connection with a vast
  • insider trading scheme, even as Cohen himself was never charged. Black Edge offers a revelatory look at the gray zone in which so much of Wall Street functions. It's a riveting, true-life legal thriller that takes readers inside the government's pursuit of Cohen and his employees, and raises urgent and troubling questions about the power and wealth of those who sit at the pinnacle of modern Wall Street. Advance praise for Black Edge "A tour de force of groundbreaking reporting and brilliant storytelling, a revealing inside account of how the Feds track a high-profile target--and, just as important, an unsettling portrayal of how Wall Street works today."--Jeffrey Toobin, New York Times bestselling author of American Heiress "Black Edge is not just a work of major importance, it is also addictively readable--and horrifyingly compelling. Sheelah Kolhatkar pulls back the curtain on the cheating, corruption, and skulduggery that underlie large swaths of the hedge fund industry and some of Wall Street's most fabled fortunes. This book is as hard to put down as it is to stomach."--Jane Mayer, New York Times bestselling author of Dark Money "Fast-paced and filled with twists, Black Edge has the grip of a thriller. It is also an essential expose of our times--a work that reveals the deep rot in our financial system. Everyone should read this book."--David Grann, New York Times bestselling author of The Lost City of Z"--
  • "Steven A. Cohen is a Wall Street legend. Born into a middle class family in a decidedly upper class suburb on Long Island, he was unpopular in high school and unlucky with girls. Then he went off to Wharton, and in 1992 launched the hedge fund SAC Capital, which grew into a $15 billion empire. He cultivated an air of mystery and reclusiveness -- at one point, owned the copyright to almost every picture taken of him -- and also of extreme excess, building a 35,000 square foot house in Greenwich, flying to work by helicopter, and amassing one of the largest private art collections in the world. But on Wall Street, he was revered as a genius: one of the greatest traders who ever lived. That public image was shattered when SAC Capital became the target of a sprawling, seven-year criminal and SEC investigation, the largest in Wall Street history, led by an undermanned but determined group of government agents, prosecutors, and investigators. Experts in finding and using "black edge" (inside information), SAC Capital was ultimately fined nearly $2 billion -- the largest penalty in history -- and shut down. But as Sheelah Kolhatkar shows, Steven Cohen was never actually put out of business. He was allowed to keep trading his own money (in 2015, he made $350 million), and can start a new hedge fund in only a few years. Though eight SAC employees were convicted or pleaded guilty to insider trading, Cohen himself walked away a free man. Black Edge is a riveting, true-life thriller that raises an urgent and troubling question: Are Wall Street titans like Steven Cohen above the law?"--
Accompanying matter
technical information on music
Assigning source
  • Provided by publisher
  • Provided by publisher
Cataloging source
TLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Kolhatkar, Sheelah
Dewey number
364.16/8092
Form of composition
not applicable
Format of music
not applicable
LC call number
HG4930
LC item number
.K65 2017
Music parts
not applicable
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorName
OverDrive, Inc
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Hedge funds
  • Global financial crisis, 2008-2009
  • Financial crises
  • BUSINESS & ECONOMICS / Finance
  • BUSINESS & ECONOMICS / Investments & Securities
Transposition and arrangement
not applicable
Label
Black edge : inside information, dirty money, and the quest to bring down the most wanted man on Wall Street, Sheelah Kolhatkar
Link
Instantiates
Publication
Note
  • Includes index
  • Electronic audio file
Capture and storage technique
digital storage
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
cr
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Configuration of playback channels
stereophonic
Content category
spoken word
Content type code
spw
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
  • unknown
  • not applicable
Extent
1 sound file
Form of item
online
Groove width / pitch
not applicable
Isbn
9780525525042
Isbn Type
(electronic audio bk.)
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
c
Other physical details
digital
Reproduction note
Electronic reproduction.
Sound
sound
Special playback characteristics
digital recording
Specific material designation
  • remote
  • other
Speed
unknown
Stock number
F723BEAA-54E8-4E5D-86C3-D1A78C1D1690
System control number
  • (OCoLC)980300886
  • (TLC)erc0000527798
Tape configuration
not applicable
Tape width
not applicable
Label
Black edge : inside information, dirty money, and the quest to bring down the most wanted man on Wall Street, Sheelah Kolhatkar
Link
Publication
Note
  • Includes index
  • Electronic audio file
Capture and storage technique
digital storage
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
cr
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Configuration of playback channels
stereophonic
Content category
spoken word
Content type code
spw
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
  • unknown
  • not applicable
Extent
1 sound file
Form of item
online
Groove width / pitch
not applicable
Isbn
9780525525042
Isbn Type
(electronic audio bk.)
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
c
Other physical details
digital
Reproduction note
Electronic reproduction.
Sound
sound
Special playback characteristics
digital recording
Specific material designation
  • remote
  • other
Speed
unknown
Stock number
F723BEAA-54E8-4E5D-86C3-D1A78C1D1690
System control number
  • (OCoLC)980300886
  • (TLC)erc0000527798
Tape configuration
not applicable
Tape width
not applicable

Library Locations

  • Athmar ParkBorrow it
    1055 S. Tejon Street, Denver, CO, 80223, US
    39.697149 -105.013016
  • Bear ValleyBorrow it
    5171 West Dartmouth Avenue, Denver, CO, 80236, US
    39.656522 -105.051463
  • Blair-Caldwell African American Research LibraryBorrow it
    2401 Welton Street, Denver, CO, 80205, US
    39.752497 -104.981474
  • ByersBorrow it
    675 Santa Fe Drive, Denver, CO, 80204, US
    39.727059 -104.998913
  • Central LibraryBorrow it
    10 West 14th Avenue Parkway, Denver, CO, 80204, US
    39.737125 -104.987572
  • DeckerBorrow it
    1501 South Logan Street, Denver, CO, 80210, US
    39.689059 -104.983206
  • Eugene FieldBorrow it
    810 South University Boulevard, Denver, CO, 80209, US
    39.701755 -104.95898
  • Ford WarrenBorrow it
    2825 High Street, Denver, CO, 80205, US
    39.757418 -104.965353
  • Green Valley RanchBorrow it
    4856 North Andes Court, Denver, CO, 80249, US
    39.78468 -104.766966
  • HadleyBorrow it
    1890 South Grove Street, Denver, CO, 80219, US
    39.68249 -105.025864
  • HampdenBorrow it
    9755 East Girard Avenue, Denver, CO, 80231, US
    39.654622 -104.87478
  • MontbelloBorrow it
    12955 Albrook Drive, Denver, CO, 80239, US
    39.780261 -104.840459
  • Park HillBorrow it
    4705 Montview Boulevard, Denver, CO, 80207, US
    39.747817 -104.932566
  • Pauline RobinsonBorrow it
    5575 E 33rd Ave, Denver, CO, 80207, US
    39.764077 -104.922847
  • Reading RocketsBorrow it
  • Rodolfo "Corky" GonzalesBorrow it
    1498 N. Irving Street, Denver, CO, 80204, US
    39.740111 -105.029694
  • Ross-BarnumBorrow it
    3570 West 1st Avenue, Denver, CO, 80219, US
    39.717957 -105.034543
  • Ross-BroadwayBorrow it
    33 East Bayaud Avenue, Denver, CO, 80209, US
    39.71497 -104.98665
  • Ross-Cherry CreekBorrow it
    305 Milwaukee Street, Denver, CO, 80206, US
    39.721192 -104.952532
  • Ross-University HillsBorrow it
    4310 East Amherst Avenue, Denver, CO, 80222, US
    39.665228 -104.937587
  • Sam GaryBorrow it
    2961 Roslyn Street, Denver, CO, 80238, US
    39.759326 -104.900536
  • Schlessman FamilyBorrow it
    100 Poplar Street, Denver, CO, 80220, US
    39.71867 -104.904314
  • SmileyBorrow it
    4501 West 46th Avenue, Denver, CO, 80212, US
    39.780541 -105.04509
  • Valdez-PerryBorrow it
    4690 Vine St, Denver, CO, 80216, US
    39.78172 -104.962102
  • Virginia VillageBorrow it
    1500 South Dahlia Street, Denver, CO, 80222, US
    39.689117 -104.931128
  • WestwoodBorrow it
    1000 South Lowell Boulevard, Denver, CO, 80219, US
    39.698321 -105.034042
  • WoodburyBorrow it
    3265 Federal Boulevard, Denver, CO, 80211, US
    39.763092 -105.025692
Processing Feedback ...