The Resource Don't close your eyes : a novel, Holly Seddon

Don't close your eyes : a novel, Holly Seddon

Label
Don't close your eyes : a novel
Title
Don't close your eyes
Title remainder
a novel
Statement of responsibility
Holly Seddon
Creator
Contributor
Author
Distributor
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
  • "A juicy, powerful read featuring twin sisters who have drifted apart, and the shocking family secrets that bind them--for readers of The Woman in Cabin 10 and I Let You Go When the past knocks, someone must answer. In a bustling suburban neighborhood in Manchester, England, sits an unassuming house. There is no sign of life behind the unwashed windows, but Robin Marshall is inside. Driven by fears and obsessions, racked by anxiety, Robin is frantically pushing her body through punishing workouts, eating little, haunted by what happened to her family when she was a girl. Robin's only connection to the outside world is through her rear windows and the lives she spies upon in the apartment house across the way. Then a stranger starts pounding on her door. Sarah Marshall is Robin's twin, estranged from her sister after their parents' betrayal and a violation at the hands of a man she should have been able to trust. Sarah has recently lost custody of the child she loves more than anything and has set off on her own, hoping that somewhere in England she can find Robin, the braver twin, the rock star, the survivor, the savior. These two young women, polar opposites, cannot go on unless they reckon with the past. While Sarah, slowly unraveling, searches for her sister's hiding place, Robin sees another life hanging in the balance in the lighted windows across the street. It is a life only Robin can save--as long as she never looks away. In a novel that is stunning in its twists, shocks, and gripping psychological suspense, two sisters find themselves on the razor's edge of sanity. Untold secrets, a ghastly lie, and suffocating guilt hold them back. Only one astounding act can set them free. And one last revelation will leave readers gasping in surprise. Advance praise for Don't Close Your Eyes "[A] smartly plotted psychological thriller. [Holly] Seddon skillfully pieces together the now-estranged twins' lives. Plenty of last-minute bombshells await
  • "Robin and Sarah haven't spoken in years. Robin can't leave her house. A complete shut-in, she spends her days spying on her neighbors, subtly meddling in their lives. But she can't keep her demons out forever. Someone from her past has returned, and is desperate to get inside. Sarah can't go home. Her husband has kicked her out, forcibly denying her access to their toddler. Sarah will do anything to get her daughter back, but she's unraveling under the mounting pressure of concealing the dark secrets of her past. And her lies are catching up to her. The novel takes readers back in time to witness the complex family dynamics that formed Robin and Sarah into the emotionally damaged, estranged young women they've become. As the gripping and intricate layers of their shared past are slowly peeled away, the shocks and twists will keep readers breathless long after the final page"--
  • "--Publishers Weekly Praise for Holly Seddon's Try Not to Breathe "A razor-sharp, fast-paced plot and wonderfully complex characters. Not since The Girl on the Train have I been so captivated by a work of suspense."--Tess Gerritsen, New York Times bestselling author of I Know a Secret "Delivers the high-quality thrills and intriguing characters that readers demand in the best of psychological thrillers."--Associated Press "A fast-paced debut about long-buried secrets and tangled truths."--Kimberly McCreight, New York Times bestselling author of Where They Found Her "Try not to breathe, try not to make plans, try not to commit to anything in fact till you have finished [Holly Seddon's] debut novel, because we must warn you now--you'll be fully hooked from page one."--Glamour (U.K.) "Fascinating. Seddon's storytelling skills are strong and the book is engrossing."--Kirkus Reviews "A brilliant, beautifully written thriller."--Augusten Burroughs, New York Times bestselling author of Running with Scissors "This gripping thriller about family and redemption will keep readers engaged to the very end."--Publishers Weekly"--
Assigning source
  • Provided by publisher
  • Provided by publisher
Cataloging source
TLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Seddon, Holly
Dewey number
823/.92
Index
no index present
LC call number
PR6119.E35
LC item number
D66 2017
Literary form
fiction
Nature of contents
dictionaries
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorName
OverDrive, Inc
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Family secrets
  • Twin sisters
  • FICTION / Suspense
  • FICTION / Contemporary Women
Label
Don't close your eyes : a novel, Holly Seddon
Link
Instantiates
Publication
Note
Electronic book
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
  • cr
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
unknown
Extent
1 online resource
Form of item
online
Isbn
9781101885901
Isbn Type
(electronic bk.)
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • c
Reproduction note
Electronic reproduction.
Sound
unknown sound
Specific material designation
remote
Stock number
C8CB010D-ABD8-48A0-BDA6-6004368A4DFC
System control number
  • (OCoLC)985809300
  • (TLC)erc0000541315
Label
Don't close your eyes : a novel, Holly Seddon
Link
Publication
Note
Electronic book
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
  • cr
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
unknown
Extent
1 online resource
Form of item
online
Isbn
9781101885901
Isbn Type
(electronic bk.)
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • c
Reproduction note
Electronic reproduction.
Sound
unknown sound
Specific material designation
remote
Stock number
C8CB010D-ABD8-48A0-BDA6-6004368A4DFC
System control number
  • (OCoLC)985809300
  • (TLC)erc0000541315

Library Locations

  • Athmar ParkBorrow it
    1055 S. Tejon Street, Denver, CO, 80223, US
    39.697149 -105.013016
  • Bear ValleyBorrow it
    5171 West Dartmouth Avenue, Denver, CO, 80236, US
    39.656522 -105.051463
  • Blair-Caldwell African American Research LibraryBorrow it
    2401 Welton Street, Denver, CO, 80205, US
    39.752497 -104.981474
  • ByersBorrow it
    675 Santa Fe Drive, Denver, CO, 80204, US
    39.727059 -104.998913
  • Central LibraryBorrow it
    10 West 14th Avenue Parkway, Denver, CO, 80204, US
    39.737125 -104.987572
  • DeckerBorrow it
    1501 South Logan Street, Denver, CO, 80210, US
    39.689059 -104.983206
  • Eugene FieldBorrow it
    810 South University Boulevard, Denver, CO, 80209, US
    39.701755 -104.95898
  • Ford WarrenBorrow it
    2825 High Street, Denver, CO, 80205, US
    39.757418 -104.965353
  • Green Valley RanchBorrow it
    4856 North Andes Court, Denver, CO, 80249, US
    39.78468 -104.766966
  • HadleyBorrow it
    1890 South Grove Street, Denver, CO, 80219, US
    39.68249 -105.025864
  • HampdenBorrow it
    9755 East Girard Avenue, Denver, CO, 80231, US
    39.654622 -104.87478
  • MontbelloBorrow it
    12955 Albrook Drive, Denver, CO, 80239, US
    39.780261 -104.840459
  • Park HillBorrow it
    4705 Montview Boulevard, Denver, CO, 80207, US
    39.747817 -104.932566
  • Pauline RobinsonBorrow it
    5575 E 33rd Ave, Denver, CO, 80207, US
    39.764077 -104.922847
  • Reading RocketsBorrow it
  • Rodolfo "Corky" GonzalesBorrow it
    1498 N. Irving Street, Denver, CO, 80204, US
    39.740111 -105.029694
  • Ross-BarnumBorrow it
    3570 West 1st Avenue, Denver, CO, 80219, US
    39.717957 -105.034543
  • Ross-BroadwayBorrow it
    33 East Bayaud Avenue, Denver, CO, 80209, US
    39.71497 -104.98665
  • Ross-Cherry CreekBorrow it
    305 Milwaukee Street, Denver, CO, 80206, US
    39.721192 -104.952532
  • Ross-University HillsBorrow it
    4310 East Amherst Avenue, Denver, CO, 80222, US
    39.665228 -104.937587
  • Sam GaryBorrow it
    2961 Roslyn Street, Denver, CO, 80238, US
    39.759326 -104.900536
  • Schlessman FamilyBorrow it
    100 Poplar Street, Denver, CO, 80220, US
    39.71867 -104.904314
  • SmileyBorrow it
    4501 West 46th Avenue, Denver, CO, 80212, US
    39.780541 -105.04509
  • Valdez-PerryBorrow it
    4690 Vine St, Denver, CO, 80216, US
    39.78172 -104.962102
  • Virginia VillageBorrow it
    1500 South Dahlia Street, Denver, CO, 80222, US
    39.689117 -104.931128
  • WestwoodBorrow it
    1000 South Lowell Boulevard, Denver, CO, 80219, US
    39.698321 -105.034042
  • WoodburyBorrow it
    3265 Federal Boulevard, Denver, CO, 80211, US
    39.763092 -105.025692
Processing Feedback ...