The Resource The grouchy historian : an old-time lefty defends our Constitution against right-wing hypocrites and nutjobs, Ed Asner and Ed. Weinberger

The grouchy historian : an old-time lefty defends our Constitution against right-wing hypocrites and nutjobs, Ed Asner and Ed. Weinberger

Label
The grouchy historian : an old-time lefty defends our Constitution against right-wing hypocrites and nutjobs
Title
The grouchy historian
Title remainder
an old-time lefty defends our Constitution against right-wing hypocrites and nutjobs
Statement of responsibility
Ed Asner and Ed. Weinberger
Creator
Contributor
Author
Subject
Language
eng
Summary
"In the tradition of Al Franken and Michael Moore, Ed Asner—a.k.a. Lou Grant from The Mary Tyler Moore Show—reclaims the Constitution from the right-wingers who think that they and only they know how to interpret it"--Amazon
Cataloging source
YDX
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Asner, Edward
Dewey number
342.7302
Illustrations
illustrations
Index
no index present
LC call number
JK275
LC item number
.A776 2017
Literary form
non fiction
Nature of contents
bibliography
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorName
Weinberger, Ed
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • United States.
  • BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Entertainment & Performing Arts
  • HISTORY / United States
  • POLITICAL SCIENCE / American Government
  • United States
  • United States
Target audience
adult
Label
The grouchy historian : an old-time lefty defends our Constitution against right-wing hypocrites and nutjobs, Ed Asner and Ed. Weinberger
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references (pages 291-334)
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
Introduction: Why I wrote this book -- The founders and framers: who were those guys? -- Snapshots of life in Philadelphia, 1787 -- Heckling the right wing: their top ten talking points and my top ten comebacks -- God and the Constitution, Part I: Epistle to the Christian Right -- God and the Constitution, Part II: Epistle to the Mormons -- The writing of the Constitution: notes from the Constitutional Convention as recorded by Billey, slave to James Madison, May 6 to September 17, 1787 -- Charles Beard's economic interpretation of the Constitution, Part I: meeting the framers -- Charles Beard's economic interpretation of the Constitution, Part II: following the money -- The chapter of leftovers, Part I -- Open letter to Senator Ted Cruz written in the style of 1787 -- The Constitution according to Ben Carson, MD -- Rewriting the Constitution: Mark Levin and the Asner Amendments -- Immigration and Ann Coulter: a review that was never published in the New York Times Book Review -- The shocking truth about the Bill of Rights -- The Bill of Rights in the real world -- The chapter of leftovers, Part II -- The Emperor has no robes: Justice Antonin Scalia and Citizens United -- Scarier that Scalia: Introducing Justice Clarence Thomas -- What in Hell is a strict constructionist? -- Anonymous letter to certain members of the Supreme Court -- The chapter of leftovers, Part III -- The Second Amendment: Guns and the NRA -- In conclusion -- Appendix: The Constitution of the United States: a transcription
Dimensions
24 cm
Edition
First Simon & Schuster hardcover edition.
Extent
viii, 336 pages
Isbn
9781501166020
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
Other physical details
illustrations
System control number
  • (OCoLC)975847665
  • 1651510
  • (OCoLC)ocn975847665
  • 1651510
Label
The grouchy historian : an old-time lefty defends our Constitution against right-wing hypocrites and nutjobs, Ed Asner and Ed. Weinberger
Publication
Copyright
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references (pages 291-334)
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
Introduction: Why I wrote this book -- The founders and framers: who were those guys? -- Snapshots of life in Philadelphia, 1787 -- Heckling the right wing: their top ten talking points and my top ten comebacks -- God and the Constitution, Part I: Epistle to the Christian Right -- God and the Constitution, Part II: Epistle to the Mormons -- The writing of the Constitution: notes from the Constitutional Convention as recorded by Billey, slave to James Madison, May 6 to September 17, 1787 -- Charles Beard's economic interpretation of the Constitution, Part I: meeting the framers -- Charles Beard's economic interpretation of the Constitution, Part II: following the money -- The chapter of leftovers, Part I -- Open letter to Senator Ted Cruz written in the style of 1787 -- The Constitution according to Ben Carson, MD -- Rewriting the Constitution: Mark Levin and the Asner Amendments -- Immigration and Ann Coulter: a review that was never published in the New York Times Book Review -- The shocking truth about the Bill of Rights -- The Bill of Rights in the real world -- The chapter of leftovers, Part II -- The Emperor has no robes: Justice Antonin Scalia and Citizens United -- Scarier that Scalia: Introducing Justice Clarence Thomas -- What in Hell is a strict constructionist? -- Anonymous letter to certain members of the Supreme Court -- The chapter of leftovers, Part III -- The Second Amendment: Guns and the NRA -- In conclusion -- Appendix: The Constitution of the United States: a transcription
Dimensions
24 cm
Edition
First Simon & Schuster hardcover edition.
Extent
viii, 336 pages
Isbn
9781501166020
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
Other physical details
illustrations
System control number
  • (OCoLC)975847665
  • 1651510
  • (OCoLC)ocn975847665
  • 1651510

Library Locations

  • Athmar ParkBorrow it
    1055 S. Tejon Street, Denver, CO, 80223, US
    39.697149 -105.013016
  • Bear ValleyBorrow it
    5171 West Dartmouth Avenue, Denver, CO, 80236, US
    39.656522 -105.051463
  • Blair-Caldwell African American Research LibraryBorrow it
    2401 Welton Street, Denver, CO, 80205, US
    39.752497 -104.981474
  • ByersBorrow it
    675 Santa Fe Drive, Denver, CO, 80204, US
    39.727059 -104.998913
  • Central LibraryBorrow it
    10 West 14th Avenue Parkway, Denver, CO, 80204, US
    39.737125 -104.987572
  • DeckerBorrow it
    1501 South Logan Street, Denver, CO, 80210, US
    39.689059 -104.983206
  • Eugene FieldBorrow it
    810 South University Boulevard, Denver, CO, 80209, US
    39.701755 -104.95898
  • Ford WarrenBorrow it
    2825 High Street, Denver, CO, 80205, US
    39.757418 -104.965353
  • Green Valley RanchBorrow it
    4856 North Andes Court, Denver, CO, 80249, US
    39.78468 -104.766966
  • HadleyBorrow it
    1890 South Grove Street, Denver, CO, 80219, US
    39.68249 -105.025864
  • HampdenBorrow it
    9755 East Girard Avenue, Denver, CO, 80231, US
    39.654622 -104.87478
  • MontbelloBorrow it
    12955 Albrook Drive, Denver, CO, 80239, US
    39.780261 -104.840459
  • Park HillBorrow it
    4705 Montview Boulevard, Denver, CO, 80207, US
    39.747817 -104.932566
  • Pauline RobinsonBorrow it
    5575 E 33rd Ave, Denver, CO, 80207, US
    39.764077 -104.922847
  • Reading RocketsBorrow it
  • Rodolfo "Corky" GonzalesBorrow it
    1498 N. Irving Street, Denver, CO, 80204, US
    39.740111 -105.029694
  • Ross-BarnumBorrow it
    3570 West 1st Avenue, Denver, CO, 80219, US
    39.717957 -105.034543
  • Ross-BroadwayBorrow it
    33 East Bayaud Avenue, Denver, CO, 80209, US
    39.71497 -104.98665
  • Ross-Cherry CreekBorrow it
    305 Milwaukee Street, Denver, CO, 80206, US
    39.721192 -104.952532
  • Ross-University HillsBorrow it
    4310 East Amherst Avenue, Denver, CO, 80222, US
    39.665228 -104.937587
  • Sam GaryBorrow it
    2961 Roslyn Street, Denver, CO, 80238, US
    39.759326 -104.900536
  • Schlessman FamilyBorrow it
    100 Poplar Street, Denver, CO, 80220, US
    39.71867 -104.904314
  • SmileyBorrow it
    4501 West 46th Avenue, Denver, CO, 80212, US
    39.780541 -105.04509
  • Valdez-PerryBorrow it
    4690 Vine St, Denver, CO, 80216, US
    39.78172 -104.962102
  • Virginia VillageBorrow it
    1500 South Dahlia Street, Denver, CO, 80222, US
    39.689117 -104.931128
  • WestwoodBorrow it
    1000 South Lowell Boulevard, Denver, CO, 80219, US
    39.698321 -105.034042
  • WoodburyBorrow it
    3265 Federal Boulevard, Denver, CO, 80211, US
    39.763092 -105.025692
Processing Feedback ...