The Resource The luster of lost things, Sophie Chen Keller

The luster of lost things, Sophie Chen Keller

Label
The luster of lost things
Title
The luster of lost things
Statement of responsibility
Sophie Chen Keller
Creator
Contributor
Author
Narrator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
A fablelike debut for readers of Mark Haddon's The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time and Rebecca Makkai's The Borrower, in which a boy with an uncanny ability to find lost objects must embark on his most important search yet in order to save his mother's enchanted dessert shop, the only place he's ever called home. There's only one place in the world that lonely twelve-year-old Walter Lavender Jr. feels at home: The Lavenders, his mother's unusual West Village dessert shop, where meringues scud through displays like clouds, marzipan dragons breathe actual fire, and the airy angel food cake can make customers pounds lighter.When the mysterious and magical Book at the heart of the shop vanishes and a landlord threatens closure, it's up to Walter to find the Book and save the shop. Despite--or because of--a communication disorder that renders him speechless and friendless, Walter has a special ability to find lost things. In fact, the only thing he's failed to find is his father, a pilot lost in a presumed plane crash at sea before Walter was born. Accompanied by Milton, his best friend and overweight golden retriever, Walter's quest will take him around and under New York City, into subway tunnels and soaring over Central Park, from bottle collecting in Chinatown to racing through the Met, and introduce him to the extraordinary and forgotten people of this fantastical city. Along the way he will discover his voice and learn what it means to truly be found. From the Hardcover edition
Cataloging source
BLACP
http://library.link/vocab/creatorDate
1988-
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Keller, Sophie Chen
Dewey number
813/.6
Form of composition
not applicable
Format of music
not applicable
LC call number
PS3611.E429
LC item number
L87 2017ab
Literary text for sound recordings
fiction
Music parts
not applicable
PerformerNote
Read by Kirby Heyborne
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorName
Heyborne, Kirby
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Boys
  • Autism
  • Dogs
  • Autism
  • Boys
  • Dogs
Target audience
adult
Transposition and arrangement
not applicable
Label
The luster of lost things, Sophie Chen Keller
Instantiates
Publication
Note
  • Compact discs
  • Unabridged
Capture and storage technique
unknown
Carrier category
audio disc
Carrier category code
sd
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Configuration of playback channels
unknown
Content category
spoken word
Content type code
spw
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
4 3/4 in.
Dimensions
4 3/4 in. or 12 cm. diameter
Edition
Unabridged.
Extent
9 audio discs (10 hr., 30 min.)
Groove width / pitch
not applicable
Isbn
9781524775773
Kind of cutting
not applicable
Kind of disc cylinder or tape
mass produced
Kind of material
plastic with metal
Media category
audio
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
s
Other physical details
CD audio, digital
Publisher number
PRHA 6565
Special playback characteristics
digital recording
Specific material designation
sound disc
Speed
1.4m. per second (discs)
Stock number
  • 60c7jg
  • 40c7jg
System control number
  • (OCoLC)969975232
  • 1619287
  • (OCoLC)ocn969975232
  • (Pol)1619287
Tape configuration
not applicable
Tape width
not applicable
Label
The luster of lost things, Sophie Chen Keller
Publication
Note
  • Compact discs
  • Unabridged
Capture and storage technique
unknown
Carrier category
audio disc
Carrier category code
sd
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Configuration of playback channels
unknown
Content category
spoken word
Content type code
spw
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
4 3/4 in.
Dimensions
4 3/4 in. or 12 cm. diameter
Edition
Unabridged.
Extent
9 audio discs (10 hr., 30 min.)
Groove width / pitch
not applicable
Isbn
9781524775773
Kind of cutting
not applicable
Kind of disc cylinder or tape
mass produced
Kind of material
plastic with metal
Media category
audio
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
s
Other physical details
CD audio, digital
Publisher number
PRHA 6565
Special playback characteristics
digital recording
Specific material designation
sound disc
Speed
1.4m. per second (discs)
Stock number
  • 60c7jg
  • 40c7jg
System control number
  • (OCoLC)969975232
  • 1619287
  • (OCoLC)ocn969975232
  • (Pol)1619287
Tape configuration
not applicable
Tape width
not applicable

Library Locations

  • Athmar ParkBorrow it
    1055 S. Tejon Street, Denver, CO, 80223, US
    39.697149 -105.013016
  • Bear ValleyBorrow it
    5171 West Dartmouth Avenue, Denver, CO, 80236, US
    39.656522 -105.051463
  • Blair-Caldwell African American Research LibraryBorrow it
    2401 Welton Street, Denver, CO, 80205, US
    39.752497 -104.981474
  • ByersBorrow it
    675 Santa Fe Drive, Denver, CO, 80204, US
    39.727059 -104.998913
  • Central LibraryBorrow it
    10 West 14th Avenue Parkway, Denver, CO, 80204, US
    39.737125 -104.987572
  • DeckerBorrow it
    1501 South Logan Street, Denver, CO, 80210, US
    39.689059 -104.983206
  • Eugene FieldBorrow it
    810 South University Boulevard, Denver, CO, 80209, US
    39.701755 -104.95898
  • Ford WarrenBorrow it
    2825 High Street, Denver, CO, 80205, US
    39.757418 -104.965353
  • Green Valley RanchBorrow it
    4856 North Andes Court, Denver, CO, 80249, US
    39.78468 -104.766966
  • HadleyBorrow it
    1890 South Grove Street, Denver, CO, 80219, US
    39.68249 -105.025864
  • HampdenBorrow it
    9755 East Girard Avenue, Denver, CO, 80231, US
    39.654622 -104.87478
  • MontbelloBorrow it
    12955 Albrook Drive, Denver, CO, 80239, US
    39.780261 -104.840459
  • Park HillBorrow it
    4705 Montview Boulevard, Denver, CO, 80207, US
    39.747817 -104.932566
  • Pauline RobinsonBorrow it
    5575 E 33rd Ave, Denver, CO, 80207, US
    39.764077 -104.922847
  • Reading RocketsBorrow it
  • Rodolfo "Corky" GonzalesBorrow it
    1498 N. Irving Street, Denver, CO, 80204, US
    39.740111 -105.029694
  • Ross-BarnumBorrow it
    3570 West 1st Avenue, Denver, CO, 80219, US
    39.717957 -105.034543
  • Ross-BroadwayBorrow it
    33 East Bayaud Avenue, Denver, CO, 80209, US
    39.71497 -104.98665
  • Ross-Cherry CreekBorrow it
    305 Milwaukee Street, Denver, CO, 80206, US
    39.721192 -104.952532
  • Ross-University HillsBorrow it
    4310 East Amherst Avenue, Denver, CO, 80222, US
    39.665228 -104.937587
  • Sam GaryBorrow it
    2961 Roslyn Street, Denver, CO, 80238, US
    39.759326 -104.900536
  • Schlessman FamilyBorrow it
    100 Poplar Street, Denver, CO, 80220, US
    39.71867 -104.904314
  • SmileyBorrow it
    4501 West 46th Avenue, Denver, CO, 80212, US
    39.780541 -105.04509
  • Valdez-PerryBorrow it
    4690 Vine St, Denver, CO, 80216, US
    39.78172 -104.962102
  • Virginia VillageBorrow it
    1500 South Dahlia Street, Denver, CO, 80222, US
    39.689117 -104.931128
  • WestwoodBorrow it
    1000 South Lowell Boulevard, Denver, CO, 80219, US
    39.698321 -105.034042
  • WoodburyBorrow it
    3265 Federal Boulevard, Denver, CO, 80211, US
    39.763092 -105.025692
Processing Feedback ...