The Resource The patriot : an exhortation to liberate America from the barbarians, Gary Hart

The patriot : an exhortation to liberate America from the barbarians, Gary Hart

Label
The patriot : an exhortation to liberate America from the barbarians
Title
The patriot
Title remainder
an exhortation to liberate America from the barbarians
Statement of responsibility
Gary Hart
Creator
Subject
Language
eng
Summary
"Reflecting the experience and wisdom Gary Hart has accumulated during a lifetime of public service, The Patriot addresses the fundamental challenges to democratic leadership posed by a new century and a new millennium. Written as a handbook of advice to an aspiring younger politician in the tradition of Machiavelli's The Prince, Hart's compact and incisive book identifies the primary challenge facing American leaders today as the restoration of trust between the people and their government. The healthy skepticism Americans have historically held toward politics has been replaced by enervating cynicism, which breeds suspicion, anger, systemic alienation, and ultimately cultural dis-integration. Hart lays the blame for this problem squarely at the feet of today's political leaders, whose mistrust of the people themselves has inspired a like mistrust of the people for their government."--BOOK JACKET. "Such an atmosphere, Hart argues, is conducive to the flourishing success of new "barbarians" - found today on both left and right - who denigrate our culture and heritage, divide our society, and utilize the political process to bludgeon and destroy their opponents at any price. Speaking the language of revolution and violence, these new barbarians coarsen political discourse and cheapen the moral capital required to maintain our democratic republic - a healthy sense of public spirit and a patriotic pride in our accomplishments and history."--BOOK JACKET. "The tools of leadership espoused by Machiavelli - mystery, force, and fraud - gave us four centuries of realpolitik. But the conditions of modern governance in a media-saturated society require openness and candor from our leaders, Hart maintains, and in a powerful and persuasive collection of short, interconnected essays, he sets forth new principles for leadership and counsels citizens and politicians alike in the art of democratic renewal."--BOOK JACKET
Member of
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorDate
1936-
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Hart, Gary
Dewey number
303.3/4/0973
Index
no index present
LC call number
JC330.3
LC item number
.H37 1996
Literary form
non fiction
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Political leadership
  • Democracy
  • United States
Target audience
adult
Label
The patriot : an exhortation to liberate America from the barbarians, Gary Hart
Instantiates
Publication
Contents
  • 5.
  • Concerning the impact of the disintegration of national boundaries on national unity
  • 6.
  • Further concerning the disintegration of national boundaries and its dangerous consequences
  • 7.
  • Concerning the simultaneous emergence of nationalism in newly independent states
  • 8.
  • Concerning limitations on influencing other states
  • 9.
  • Further concerning limitations on conditioning the behavior of other states
  • 1.
  • 10.
  • Concerning power that is unusable
  • 11.
  • How a democracy structures its defenses in the modern age
  • 12.
  • Concerning the role of leader as exemplar or as servant
  • 13.
  • Concerning that which deserves blame and is praiseworthy in a leader
  • 14.
  • Concerning the integrity of leaders
  • Modern democracy and restoration of first principles
  • 15.
  • Concerning courage and cowardice, and whether it is better to be right or popular
  • 16.
  • How a leader should conduct himself to gain respect and power
  • 17.
  • Defining the obligations of public service and civic duty
  • 18.
  • Concerning national renewal, the church, the press and the state
  • 19.
  • Concerning a leader's response to organized pressure and particular interests
  • 2.
  • 20.
  • Concerning liberality and meanness
  • 21.
  • How certain leaders lose power and influence
  • 22.
  • Concerning the personal assistants of leaders
  • 23.
  • That one should foster the media's higher responsibilities by resisting its excesses
  • 24.
  • How sycophants should be avoided
  • Concerning democratic republics and national renewal
  • 25.
  • What fortune can effect in human affairs and how to withstand her
  • 26.
  • An exhortation to liberate America from the barbarians
  • 3.
  • Concerning cultivation of new democracies and achievement of the common good
  • 4.
  • What lessons may be learned from the past century concerning centralized political systems
Dimensions
23 cm.
Extent
187 p.
Isbn
9780684827513
Lccn
96010973
System control number
  • OCM34357782
  • CARL034357782
Label
The patriot : an exhortation to liberate America from the barbarians, Gary Hart
Publication
Contents
  • 5.
  • Concerning the impact of the disintegration of national boundaries on national unity
  • 6.
  • Further concerning the disintegration of national boundaries and its dangerous consequences
  • 7.
  • Concerning the simultaneous emergence of nationalism in newly independent states
  • 8.
  • Concerning limitations on influencing other states
  • 9.
  • Further concerning limitations on conditioning the behavior of other states
  • 1.
  • 10.
  • Concerning power that is unusable
  • 11.
  • How a democracy structures its defenses in the modern age
  • 12.
  • Concerning the role of leader as exemplar or as servant
  • 13.
  • Concerning that which deserves blame and is praiseworthy in a leader
  • 14.
  • Concerning the integrity of leaders
  • Modern democracy and restoration of first principles
  • 15.
  • Concerning courage and cowardice, and whether it is better to be right or popular
  • 16.
  • How a leader should conduct himself to gain respect and power
  • 17.
  • Defining the obligations of public service and civic duty
  • 18.
  • Concerning national renewal, the church, the press and the state
  • 19.
  • Concerning a leader's response to organized pressure and particular interests
  • 2.
  • 20.
  • Concerning liberality and meanness
  • 21.
  • How certain leaders lose power and influence
  • 22.
  • Concerning the personal assistants of leaders
  • 23.
  • That one should foster the media's higher responsibilities by resisting its excesses
  • 24.
  • How sycophants should be avoided
  • Concerning democratic republics and national renewal
  • 25.
  • What fortune can effect in human affairs and how to withstand her
  • 26.
  • An exhortation to liberate America from the barbarians
  • 3.
  • Concerning cultivation of new democracies and achievement of the common good
  • 4.
  • What lessons may be learned from the past century concerning centralized political systems
Dimensions
23 cm.
Extent
187 p.
Isbn
9780684827513
Lccn
96010973
System control number
  • OCM34357782
  • CARL034357782

Library Locations

  • Athmar ParkBorrow it
    1055 S. Tejon Street, Denver, CO, 80223, US
    39.697149 -105.013016
  • Bear ValleyBorrow it
    5171 West Dartmouth Avenue, Denver, CO, 80236, US
    39.656522 -105.051463
  • Blair-Caldwell African American Research LibraryBorrow it
    2401 Welton Street, Denver, CO, 80205, US
    39.752497 -104.981474
  • ByersBorrow it
    675 Santa Fe Drive, Denver, CO, 80204, US
    39.727059 -104.998913
  • Central LibraryBorrow it
    10 West 14th Avenue Parkway, Denver, CO, 80204, US
    39.737125 -104.987572
  • DeckerBorrow it
    1501 South Logan Street, Denver, CO, 80210, US
    39.689059 -104.983206
  • Eugene FieldBorrow it
    810 South University Boulevard, Denver, CO, 80209, US
    39.701755 -104.95898
  • Ford WarrenBorrow it
    2825 High Street, Denver, CO, 80205, US
    39.757418 -104.965353
  • Green Valley RanchBorrow it
    4856 North Andes Court, Denver, CO, 80249, US
    39.78468 -104.766966
  • HadleyBorrow it
    1890 South Grove Street, Denver, CO, 80219, US
    39.68249 -105.025864
  • HampdenBorrow it
    9755 East Girard Avenue, Denver, CO, 80231, US
    39.654622 -104.87478
  • MontbelloBorrow it
    12955 Albrook Drive, Denver, CO, 80239, US
    39.780261 -104.840459
  • Park HillBorrow it
    4705 Montview Boulevard, Denver, CO, 80207, US
    39.747817 -104.932566
  • Pauline RobinsonBorrow it
    5575 E 33rd Ave, Denver, CO, 80207, US
    39.764077 -104.922847
  • Reading RocketsBorrow it
  • Rodolfo "Corky" GonzalesBorrow it
    1498 N. Irving Street, Denver, CO, 80204, US
    39.740111 -105.029694
  • Ross-BarnumBorrow it
    3570 West 1st Avenue, Denver, CO, 80219, US
    39.717957 -105.034543
  • Ross-BroadwayBorrow it
    33 East Bayaud Avenue, Denver, CO, 80209, US
    39.71497 -104.98665
  • Ross-Cherry CreekBorrow it
    305 Milwaukee Street, Denver, CO, 80206, US
    39.721192 -104.952532
  • Ross-University HillsBorrow it
    4310 East Amherst Avenue, Denver, CO, 80222, US
    39.665228 -104.937587
  • Sam GaryBorrow it
    2961 Roslyn Street, Denver, CO, 80238, US
    39.759326 -104.900536
  • Schlessman FamilyBorrow it
    100 Poplar Street, Denver, CO, 80220, US
    39.71867 -104.904314
  • SmileyBorrow it
    4501 West 46th Avenue, Denver, CO, 80212, US
    39.780541 -105.04509
  • Valdez-PerryBorrow it
    4690 Vine St, Denver, CO, 80216, US
    39.78172 -104.962102
  • Virginia VillageBorrow it
    1500 South Dahlia Street, Denver, CO, 80222, US
    39.689117 -104.931128
  • WestwoodBorrow it
    1000 South Lowell Boulevard, Denver, CO, 80219, US
    39.698321 -105.034042
  • WoodburyBorrow it
    3265 Federal Boulevard, Denver, CO, 80211, US
    39.763092 -105.025692
Processing Feedback ...