The Resource West of Eden : an American place, Jean Stein

West of Eden : an American place, Jean Stein

Label
West of Eden : an American place
Title
West of Eden
Title remainder
an American place
Statement of responsibility
Jean Stein
Creator
Contributor
Author
Distributor
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
  • "An epic, mesmerizing oral history of Hollywood and Los Angeles by the author of the contemporary classic Edie; Jean Stein influenced the art of oral history in her groundbreaking book Edie : American Girl, an indelible portrait of Andy Warhol 'superstar' Edie Sedgwick. Now, in West of Eden, Stein turns her lens toward the city Sedgwick came from--Los Angeles--and a mythic cast of fortune hunters and aspiring moguls whose quests for fame and power destroyed many along the way. West of Eden, a work of history both grand in scale and intimate in detail, tells the stories of five larger-than-life individuals and their families, each one representing different aspects of Los Angeles and the American dream. There is Edward Doheny, the Wisconsin-born oil tycoon whose corruption ruins the reputation of a United States president and leads to his own son's violent death. Jack Warner, the son of Jewish Polish immigrants, joins with his brothers to found one of the world's most iconic film studios. Jane Garland, the troubled daughter of an aspiring actress, can never escape her mother's schemes. Jennifer Jones, a young actress from Oklahoma, wins an Academy Award at twenty-five but struggles with despair despite her fame and glamour. Finally, Stein chronicles the ascent of her own father, Jules Stein, an eye doctor born in Indiana who transforms Hollywood with the creation of an unrivaled agency and studio. These chapters paint a panoramic picture of outsiders pinning their hopes on Los Angeles--then watching as the shadow of those dreams envelopes their loved ones, especially their children, and the city itself. Decades in the making, West of Eden depicts a land of absurdity and treachery in the tradition of Raymond Chandler, Nathanael West, and Joan Didion. As she did in Edie, Stein weaves the personal recollections of hundreds of people into an astonishing tapestry of voices telling the saga of a place like no other. Advance praise for West of Eden: 'In times past,
  • in an effort to capture the edge and feel of Hollywood during its golden age of glamour and noir, Nathanael West, Raymond Chandler, Carey McWilliams, and Joan Didion stretched language and genre to their limits. Jean Stein and West of Eden belong in this company'--Kevin Starr, former California State Librarian and author of California : A History"--
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
Biography type
contains biographical information
Cataloging source
TLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Stein, Jean
Dewey number
979.4/94
Index
no index present
LC call number
F869.L853
LC item number
A275 2016
Literary form
non fiction
Nature of contents
dictionaries
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorName
OverDrive, Inc
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Oral history
  • HISTORY / United States / State & Local / West (AK, CA, CO, HI, ID, MT, NV, UT, WY)
  • BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Entertainment & Performing Arts
  • PERFORMING ARTS / Film & Video / History & Criticism
  • Los Angeles (Calif.)
  • Hollywood (Los Angeles, Calif.)
  • Beverly Hills (Calif.)
  • Los Angeles (Calif.)
  • Hollywood (Los Angeles, Calif.)
  • Beverly Hills (Calif.)
  • Los Angeles (Calif.)
  • Los Angeles (Calif.)
Target audience
adult
Label
West of Eden : an American place, Jean Stein
Link
Instantiates
Publication
Note
Electronic book
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
cr
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
Maps -- I. The Dohenys -- 905 Loma Vista Drive, Beverly Hills -- II. The Warners -- 1801 Angelo Drive, Beverly Hills -- III. The Garlands -- 22368 Pacific Coast Highway, Malibu -- IV. Jennifer Jones -- 1400 Tower Grove Road, Beverly Hills -- 22400 Pacific Coast Highway, Malibu -- 22368 Pacific Coast Highway, Malibu -- V. The Steins -- 1330 Angelo Drive, Beverly Hills -- Biographical Notes
Dimensions
unknown
Extent
1 online resource
Form of item
online
Isbn
9780812998412
Isbn Type
(electronic bk.)
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
c
Reproduction note
Electronic reproduction.
Sound
unknown sound
Specific material designation
remote
Stock number
39D72D30-0D89-4814-A725-E855969BEC98
System control number
  • (OCoLC)938546983
  • (TLC)erc0000419851
Label
West of Eden : an American place, Jean Stein
Link
Publication
Note
Electronic book
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
cr
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
Maps -- I. The Dohenys -- 905 Loma Vista Drive, Beverly Hills -- II. The Warners -- 1801 Angelo Drive, Beverly Hills -- III. The Garlands -- 22368 Pacific Coast Highway, Malibu -- IV. Jennifer Jones -- 1400 Tower Grove Road, Beverly Hills -- 22400 Pacific Coast Highway, Malibu -- 22368 Pacific Coast Highway, Malibu -- V. The Steins -- 1330 Angelo Drive, Beverly Hills -- Biographical Notes
Dimensions
unknown
Extent
1 online resource
Form of item
online
Isbn
9780812998412
Isbn Type
(electronic bk.)
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
c
Reproduction note
Electronic reproduction.
Sound
unknown sound
Specific material designation
remote
Stock number
39D72D30-0D89-4814-A725-E855969BEC98
System control number
  • (OCoLC)938546983
  • (TLC)erc0000419851

Library Locations

  • Athmar ParkBorrow it
    1055 S. Tejon Street, Denver, CO, 80223, US
    39.697149 -105.013016
  • Bear ValleyBorrow it
    5171 West Dartmouth Avenue, Denver, CO, 80236, US
    39.656522 -105.051463
  • Blair-Caldwell African American Research LibraryBorrow it
    2401 Welton Street, Denver, CO, 80205, US
    39.752497 -104.981474
  • ByersBorrow it
    675 Santa Fe Drive, Denver, CO, 80204, US
    39.727059 -104.998913
  • Central LibraryBorrow it
    10 West 14th Avenue Parkway, Denver, CO, 80204, US
    39.737125 -104.987572
  • DeckerBorrow it
    1501 South Logan Street, Denver, CO, 80210, US
    39.689059 -104.983206
  • Eugene FieldBorrow it
    810 South University Boulevard, Denver, CO, 80209, US
    39.701755 -104.95898
  • Ford WarrenBorrow it
    2825 High Street, Denver, CO, 80205, US
    39.757418 -104.965353
  • Green Valley RanchBorrow it
    4856 North Andes Court, Denver, CO, 80249, US
    39.78468 -104.766966
  • HadleyBorrow it
    1890 South Grove Street, Denver, CO, 80219, US
    39.68249 -105.025864
  • HampdenBorrow it
    9755 East Girard Avenue, Denver, CO, 80231, US
    39.654622 -104.87478
  • MontbelloBorrow it
    12955 Albrook Drive, Denver, CO, 80239, US
    39.780261 -104.840459
  • Park HillBorrow it
    4705 Montview Boulevard, Denver, CO, 80207, US
    39.747817 -104.932566
  • Pauline RobinsonBorrow it
    5575 E 33rd Ave, Denver, CO, 80207, US
    39.764077 -104.922847
  • Reading RocketsBorrow it
  • Rodolfo "Corky" GonzalesBorrow it
    1498 N. Irving Street, Denver, CO, 80204, US
    39.740111 -105.029694
  • Ross-BarnumBorrow it
    3570 West 1st Avenue, Denver, CO, 80219, US
    39.717957 -105.034543
  • Ross-BroadwayBorrow it
    33 East Bayaud Avenue, Denver, CO, 80209, US
    39.71497 -104.98665
  • Ross-Cherry CreekBorrow it
    305 Milwaukee Street, Denver, CO, 80206, US
    39.721192 -104.952532
  • Ross-University HillsBorrow it
    4310 East Amherst Avenue, Denver, CO, 80222, US
    39.665228 -104.937587
  • Sam GaryBorrow it
    2961 Roslyn Street, Denver, CO, 80238, US
    39.759326 -104.900536
  • Schlessman FamilyBorrow it
    100 Poplar Street, Denver, CO, 80220, US
    39.71867 -104.904314
  • SmileyBorrow it
    4501 West 46th Avenue, Denver, CO, 80212, US
    39.780541 -105.04509
  • Valdez-PerryBorrow it
    4690 Vine St, Denver, CO, 80216, US
    39.78172 -104.962102
  • Virginia VillageBorrow it
    1500 South Dahlia Street, Denver, CO, 80222, US
    39.689117 -104.931128
  • WestwoodBorrow it
    1000 South Lowell Boulevard, Denver, CO, 80219, US
    39.698321 -105.034042
  • WoodburyBorrow it
    3265 Federal Boulevard, Denver, CO, 80211, US
    39.763092 -105.025692
Processing Feedback ...